Annyeonghaseyo-Glambox ME September 2016 (Korean Special)

Annyeonghaseyo! Hello! How are you?

My first foray into beauty subscription boxes was with Zanedo Dubai and it was a pleasantly wonderful surprise for me indeed.

Last month I reviewed the August 2016 “Esthetic Sense” Glambox, in which I got samples from Jane Iredale, Davines and Dermalogica. LINK HERE.

This month, I am so ecstatic to receive samples from Korean makeup and skincare brands, simply because they are cute (in packaging), natural (ingredients), and effective (formulation)!

It was delivered by Aramex. Whoa, this courier is another top notch one. They sent an email notification with tracking number and you can check the progress on their website. 

This month’s box features The Face Shop, Missha and Skin79 brands. I am well-aware of The Face Shop as it is one, if not the first Korean cosmetics and skincare line to set foot in my home country, the Philippines. I am also satisfied with their Green Tea Facial Emulsion (basically a light, non-creamy facial moisturiser). I only saw Missha while browsing online shops, and Skin79 was completely under my radar, but I’m willing to try them all. Shall we?

Vouchers, vouchers! To be honest I haven’t used any of the vouchers I received for the past year. Either the place is too far or the price is still too high for me. What looks promising is the Buy 1 Take 1 Unlimited Korean BBQ at Sumibiya at The Raddisson Blue Hotel in Deira (AED150/person).

THE FACE SHOP

The Face Shop Cherry Cherry Lips Modeling Gel Patch

“The soft hydrogel jelly patch uses cherry and cranberry to treat parched lips to nourishment, moisture and leave them looking plumped and kissable.”

I really do not have lips so chappy I need to have a “lip mask” but this one surely might help with dry patches on the corner of my lips.

The Face Shop Melting Colour Lip Creamer 

“Combining lipstick and cream together, the Melting Colour Lip Creamer delivers vivid colour and long-lasting nourishment, while working to keep your lips in tip top condition.”

I am thankful to receive this one, because I only have one lip color, which is an almost neon pink lip lacquer from Rimmel, which is a cross between lipstick (desired effect) and lipgloss (application and formulation).

The packaging is genius. It looks like color pencil when capped and the color on the cap matches the actual color balm inside. Aaaaand, dang, the colors are almost the same with my Rimmel. (T-T). Too bright! Too pink! But still, too cute.

The texture is velvety and the scent is light. It glides easily and leaves a smooth color on the lips. Staying power is short, as it can be easily swiped away with tissue, and it does not leave a strong color when that happens. Nonetheless, lips stay quite moisturized.

The Face Shop Charcoal Plant Cleansing Puff

Gentle on sensitive skin, “Charcoal and Konjac Cleansing Puff are perfect for those wanting to achieve a beautiful complexion when used as part of your cleansing routine, with the charcoal working hard to draw out bacteria and poisons from the skin.”

On its packaging, the grey sponge looks moist and I wonder why. The sponge is made up of 90% devil’s tongue jelly or “konjac” and 10% natural bamboo charcoal. Basically one will use the wet sponge to apply facial or gel wash to one’s face and give it a gentle massage. This needs to be replaced after 3 months, however.

No need for me to buy that Clarisonic. This environment-friendly item, my dear, will clean your face thoroughly! 

MISSHA

MISSHA Super Aqua Ice Tear Kit – Toner & Emulsion

“Need a pick me up from the soaring heat? Treat your skin to highly beneficial glacier water from the virgin clear area of Chilean Patagonia which is packed full of rich minerals. This water has then been transformed into The MISSHA Super Aqua Ice Tear Toner & Emulsion to hydrate, clear and refresh your skin. Trust us, it feels like bliss on parched skin.”

Truth to be told, I was disappointed when the Dermalogica sample I got was not a toner or anything that may help treat my large, whitehead-filled pores. So, receiving this kit was a just compensation.

The emulsion and toner came in 15ml sample bottles in a blue box. Can I just say I like the color blue?! Okay. The toner is colorless, alcohol free and lightly fragranced, it does not sting or irritate. The white non-greasy emulsion feels silky when applied then it leaves a dewy moisture on the skin.

SKIN79

SKIN79 BROW CLASS Colouring Mascara

“Natural yet intense colour to define while keeping your eyebrow layer neat and under control. The combination of Black Food Complex and Argan Oil keeps the brow and skin healthy while the formula glides on softly yet sets to give a fantastic hold.”

I see this as a non-essential item as only people who colored their hair brown to blond might need to lighten black brows. I might simply use it to keep my bushy brows neat and less pronounced.

SKIN79 WONDER FIX Brush Eyeliner

“This long lasting brush liner delivers a super precise result with more control than when using a regular pencil. The brush is flexible and soft yet with a pointy tip to get right into the corners of your eyes.”

I actually have another eyeliner (another Rimmel product), thank you very much. But this one from Skin79 ups the ante, by having color built into the brush eyeliner. Most other brush eyeliners are actually a separate pot of color cream with a small brush.

It was like holding a mini paintbrush! The bristles are soft and the brown color opens up the eyes with less drama than black eyeliner.

SWATCHES: Above – Skin79 Brown eyeliner. Middle – The Face Shop Lip Creme in Candy Violet (looks neon pink for me). Below – Skin 79 Brown Brow Mascara

So again, the delivery and packaging was superb! The contents this time are great!

Please bear with me for the last month of my subscription!

Jal bonaeseyo!!!!

Have a good day!!!

2 comments

  1. colourthoselips · September 26, 2016

    Awesome post!

    Would love for you to check out my latest post x

    • aerislair · September 26, 2016

      Of course! Thanks

Leave a comment