Oh My Sweet Summer Child

Re-posted from 2011 from my blogger account (still on the net, what a time capsule!).

Hunting Blues in the World of Work

BORED WITH FACEBOOK!
 
I’m so bored with it that I decided to blog. I would like to try WordPress but I’m not that keen with its processes (download this, upload that, change the code, WT-! I just wanna blog, why do I have to do those?!). Good thing there’s Blogger. It’s much easier to make an account since I already has a Google account. Anyway…
I graduated on April Fool’s Day this 2011. Too grateful that our graduation was not an elaborate joke. My brother and I would join our cousins in Hongkong, Macau and then Bicol. I had all the time to watch Naruto Ep. 1 to the latest, read mangas, books and magazines, and just have fun. But we went home after a quick lunch at Shakey’s. I, still in my long red flowing dress and graduation regalia, opened Jobstreet.com.ph and started this online job hunting.
Why was I so keen to finding a job so immediately, then?
Some of my classmates already had jobs. So envious, of course!!!
It was also a wake-up call to search and search for that elusive job.
I applied to as many companies as possible- online. Jobstreet and JobsDB are good sites, although I’d say it’s not the only online source. I also kept the listing of company exhibitors in our school job fair for reference. I visited company sites to drop my resume in their talent/resume banks and fill up online forms. I Googled “psychology jobs in the philippines”, too… and there were other sites with job listings. I did not bother with checking the newspaper’s classified ads, though. There were too few posts for Psychology graduates like me.
As a fresh graduate, my only work experience was my on-the-job trainings and I elaborated on my activities during those OJTs in my resume. I listed as many possible and relevant skills as possible, and even took note of our seminars and workshops in college. I also listed my contributions to the organizations I am/was a member of.
I research about a company’s profile in order to gain background on their particular needs and preferences. One will learn in a company’s VMOG (vision-mission-objectives-goals) the corporate culture (simply put, working environment, employees’ collective personality) as well as key traits that employers value in their employees and thus, seek in job applicants.
I also take note of the job vacancy’s qualifications and job description. It is to make sure I know what I will do when I get the job and be able to elaborate my skills that are essential for that job. And, this is a small detail but one must know the exact job title of the position he or she is applying for.
I am also grateful that there is Google Map for I am able to know how to go to their address.
And I wear comfortable smart casual attire for I commute all the way from Bulacan. One cannot impress the interviewer with a killer get-up if your high heels are killing you.
Despite of these preparations, I only got as far as a third interview. No job offer. And the culprit is… MY COMMUNICATION SKILLS.
I was Best in English in grade school and high school and it was due to sheer guts of speaking in straight English in class recitations, some prowess in writing and high scores in English examinations and quizzes. It was not enough, though. I entered college and there I realized how lousy my oral/spoken communication skills were. The worse part was that in college, one’s communication skills is not as extensively enhanced compared to high school. I guess one reason why Ateneo and La Salle graduates have such an edge over other graduates is that they can articulate themselves better in English even BEFORE entering those universities. English-speaking households, exclusive schools, high-quality  schools or a combination of those breed good  English speakers. Then universities hone these skills to perfection. I am not a good speaker, and in spite of college training, it is not enough.
Another thing is personality. I give off an air of haughtiness. Poor me. Blame the squinty eyes, the high-pitched voice, and my uncontrollable eyebrow twitches. So I tried to smile all the time, agree with the interviewer and answer questions straightforwardly and honestly. NADA.
I realize, then, that one has to lie, and be good at it, for the sake of showing them that he or she is the perfect fit for the company. Make “bola” in short. Even recruiters in forums say that white lies may be used but as sparingly as possible.
I WON’T DO THAT, THOUGH. Integrity is my best asset. When I say that in five years I see myself as working with them in the morning and teaching part-time in the evening or at weekends,  it is the truth. When I tell then that I may not have all the skills required but I am a driven and focused person in work, it is the truth.
I want the company to see me as me. Not as a person who promises that she would love to stay in the company and then be gone in a blink of an eyes after several months.
 I hope the companies I will be applying this week will see me as a person of integrity and loyalty.. and dedication as well.

 

Leave a Reply

